Can't enter rooms?

This section is for posting questions regarding Wolfhome, workings or details, or simply needing to contact one of the administration. Bans or warnings given, whether temporary or permanent, will NOT be discussed, and topics containing such material will be immediately deleted.
User avatar
Aeonium
Spellweaver and Wordsmith
Spellweaver and Wordsmith
Posts: 7212
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:16 pm
Gender: Genderfluid
Pronouns: They/Them
Preferred Name: Grayson
Species: Red fox
Location: Texas

Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:57 am

Kyo wrote:see if this works for chrome

-go to chrome://flags
-Run all Flash content when Flash setting is set to "allow"
-change that to "enabled"
-restart the browser
no dice 8(
0 x

User avatar
Lazuli
Omega - Newcomer
Omega - Newcomer
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:52 pm
Gender:
Species: Husky
Location: FurCons!
Contact:

Fri Jul 28, 2017 4:34 pm

Myself and many others were able to completely eradicate this issue by doing the following;

-Go to chrome://flags
-Scroll down to "Run all Flash content when Flash setting is set to "allow"
-Change that to "Enabled"
-Restart your browser.

If you're using something other than Chrome I'll look into it some more with other browsers, but I myself haven't experienced it.

Edit: I just thought I'd clarify why this needs to happen. It's the new update that's changed the way Chrome responds to Flash application. Chrome is working towards nixing Flash entirely and has started by having this setting auto-set to "Default." The default of Chrome is to block access to less important Flash-utilizing sessions, even when you have it set to allow Flash. This is why the rooms still pick it up, and sniff songs still work, but loading rooms becomes an issue. Flash is enabled and working, but this little setting blocks 'unimportant' usage of Flash. Changing it to 'Enabled' allows all instances of Flash to run.

Edit 2: Didn't see this had been posted before, whoops.
Last edited by Lazuli on Fri Jul 28, 2017 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
0 x
Image
music is evfurrything!
- lazuli on chats! -

User avatar
Lazuli
Omega - Newcomer
Omega - Newcomer
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:52 pm
Gender:
Species: Husky
Location: FurCons!
Contact:

Fri Jul 28, 2017 4:43 pm

Aeonium wrote:
Kyo wrote:see if this works for chrome

-go to chrome://flags
-Run all Flash content when Flash setting is set to "allow"
-change that to "enabled"
-restart the browser
no dice 8(
Huh. that's odd, you have it changed to allow in regular settings too?
0 x
Image
music is evfurrything!
- lazuli on chats! -

User avatar
underdog
Alpha - Site Owner
Alpha - Site Owner
Posts: 5228
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:12 pm
Location: Cyberspace
Contact:

Fri Jul 28, 2017 9:14 pm

Today the Chrome Flash problem became much worse. Fortunately, I am also seeing it now. That's a good thing because it means that I am better able to debug it.

I added a message to the background for chatlands rooms. It explains what the problem is and it provides a temporary work around, again at least for Chrome.

It appears that until I get the code rewritten, we're going to have fairly serious problems with Flash going forward, at least on Chrome. Firefox still works for me just fine. I saw the post above that said they were having problems on Firefox as well. I can't explain that one yet. I think if you have Flash installed on Firefox which it is by default everything should be okay there.

I've done some of the work today, but it will be at least several more days before I can replace the Flash code with HTML5 and websockets code.
0 x
Image

Avatar is from deviant art: http://a.deviantart.net/avatars/m/a/maklods.png?4

(Luigi is TM Nintendo, right? what's up with that?)

User avatar
Aeonium
Spellweaver and Wordsmith
Spellweaver and Wordsmith
Posts: 7212
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:16 pm
Gender: Genderfluid
Pronouns: They/Them
Preferred Name: Grayson
Species: Red fox
Location: Texas

Fri Jul 28, 2017 9:31 pm

I was able to finally get in today. Idk how or why.
0 x

User avatar
Dodam
Gamma - Forum Moderator
Gamma - Forum Moderator
Posts: 2108
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:57 am
Gender: Female
Pronouns: She/Her
Preferred Name: Shiik
Contact:

Fri Jul 28, 2017 9:31 pm

Thank you UD! The temporary fix is helping out a lot :3
Also I tried Firefox again today and it seems like I'm not experiencing anything wrong there anymore.
Thanks for your hard work!
0 x
- Rasengan

Previously Shii
Dodam on Chat
References | General Commissions | Fullybody Human Commissions | Quick Commissions | DeviantArt | Premades
"Turn your sadness into kindness, and your uniqueness into strength."

User avatar
underdog
Alpha - Site Owner
Alpha - Site Owner
Posts: 5228
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:12 pm
Location: Cyberspace
Contact:

Fri Jul 28, 2017 11:22 pm

Aeonium wrote:I was able to finally get in today. Idk how or why.
Glad to hear it "got better" but actually I hate it when things just somehow "get well". If there's anything you changed or fiddled with, be sure to let me know.
0 x
Image

Avatar is from deviant art: http://a.deviantart.net/avatars/m/a/maklods.png?4

(Luigi is TM Nintendo, right? what's up with that?)

User avatar
Aeonium
Spellweaver and Wordsmith
Spellweaver and Wordsmith
Posts: 7212
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:16 pm
Gender: Genderfluid
Pronouns: They/Them
Preferred Name: Grayson
Species: Red fox
Location: Texas

Sat Jul 29, 2017 7:48 am

Well the thing I did was this:
Kyo wrote:see if this works for chrome

-go to chrome://flags
-Run all Flash content when Flash setting is set to "allow"
-change that to "enabled"
-restart the browser


But it didn't allow me to get on for quite a few hours.



0 x

User avatar
UGLY
The stuff of Legends
The stuff of Legends
Posts: 15688
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:56 pm
Preferred Name: alec

Mon Jul 31, 2017 10:32 pm

i'd like to say that it was very thoughtful to put the message every time we enter a room bc i wouldve forgotten if not for that

also update: no change!
i still have to manually run flash

thank you for trying to fix this!! much appreciation
0 x

Image
my hands are dirty and my heart is cold


User avatar
underdog
Alpha - Site Owner
Alpha - Site Owner
Posts: 5228
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:12 pm
Location: Cyberspace
Contact:

Tue Aug 01, 2017 12:40 pm

vice wrote:i'd like to say that it was very thoughtful to put the message every time we enter a room bc i wouldve forgotten if not for that

also update: no change!
i still have to manually run flash

thank you for trying to fix this!! much appreciation
So are you saying that even if you go to chrome://flags/ and find Run all Flash content when Flash setting is set to "allow" and set that to Enabled, you still have to allow Flash every time?
0 x
Image

Avatar is from deviant art: http://a.deviantart.net/avatars/m/a/maklods.png?4

(Luigi is TM Nintendo, right? what's up with that?)

User avatar
Epilepsy
Spellweaver and Wordsmith
Spellweaver and Wordsmith
Posts: 5764
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:31 am
Gender: Female
Pronouns: She/her
Preferred Name: Haley
Species: Coyote

Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:56 pm

I have to allow flash every time no matter what I do sadly :(
0 x
Image
06/28/17

User avatar
Blackbird
Beta - Forum Administrator
Beta - Forum Administrator
Posts: 17090
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 8:42 pm
Gender: Female.
Pronouns: She/Her.
Preferred Name: Emily / Emi.
Species: Uchiha.
Location: New York City.

Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:09 pm

I haven't been able to get on using Chrome for awhile.
I switched over to the browser, Chromium and it works fine for me now.
0 x
- Chidori!
”You don’t ever have to forgive me.
And no matter what you do from here on out, know this.
I will love you, always.”

INFP-T | Slytherin | Capricorn

User avatar
canines
Pack Initiate
Pack Initiate
Posts: 456
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 7:43 pm
Pronouns: all
Preferred Name: kota

Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:52 pm

i have had zero issues for a while now, and I use chrome always. I don't have to allow Flash to run manually anymore, but I haven't done anything special.
0 x
Image
☆彡im running out of words 2 say to u ミ☆
contact info.

User avatar
underdog
Alpha - Site Owner
Alpha - Site Owner
Posts: 5228
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:12 pm
Location: Cyberspace
Contact:

Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:57 pm

canines wrote:i have had zero issues for a while now, and I use chrome always. I don't have to allow Flash to run manually anymore, but I haven't done anything special.
Interesting. What version of Chrome are you on?
0 x
Image

Avatar is from deviant art: http://a.deviantart.net/avatars/m/a/maklods.png?4

(Luigi is TM Nintendo, right? what's up with that?)

User avatar
canines
Pack Initiate
Pack Initiate
Posts: 456
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 7:43 pm
Pronouns: all
Preferred Name: kota

Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:01 pm

underdog wrote:Interesting. What version of Chrome are you on?
"Version 59.0.3071.115 (Official Build) (64-bit)" according to my laptop! Whenever I enter any room (on any chatland) it loads fairly quickly.
0 x
Image
☆彡im running out of words 2 say to u ミ☆
contact info.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests