How to prevent loose pixels?

This section is intended ONLY for topics which are no longer relevant, but may be needed for future reference.
Locked
User avatar
Azura
Pack Initiate
Pack Initiate
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:33 pm
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:08 pm

I've made a visual to explain.

Image

I have the color layer, lineart layer, and background color just to show the loose pixels. Here, you can see that it's neatly colored with no loose pixels. However...

Image

Once the layers are merged, there are loose pixels EVERYWHERE.

It is quite irritating, and I'm wondering if there's a way people keep this from happening. Once I save the image the layers merge anyway, so it doesn't matter whether I merge the layers right in photoshop or not.
0 x

User avatar
Saebre
Spellweaver and Wordsmith
Spellweaver and Wordsmith
Posts: 5595
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:12 pm
Location: seattle, WA

Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:27 pm

Try making your bottom (dark blue) layer invisible, then Merge All Layers (Ctrl Shift E) -- you will need to have one of the visible layers selected when you do this, ie you cannot have the invisible layer selected or the other two won't merge.
0 x
Image
♥ ♥ ♥
patreon | art topic | premades | tos

User avatar
Bug
Ethereal Ancestor
Ethereal Ancestor
Posts: 11149
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:43 pm
Gender: female
Pronouns: her
Species: cat/fox
Location: South Carolina
Contact:

Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:34 pm

I sometimes hav to merge my greyscale layer into my transparent BG layer, then merge my coloring layer down.
0 x

Image
: links :


User avatar
Azura
Pack Initiate
Pack Initiate
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:33 pm
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:35 pm

Mm, tried that, and then I recreated a dark bg layer to check and the pixels are still there.

I had also tried merging the layers and just saving it, then opening that new file (I save my files as a .png, if that helps) and adding a dark background to check that way and the loose pixels are there too.

Edit: Tried both techniques. Didn't help.
Last edited by Azura on Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

User avatar
Selamar
Archdruid - Spirit Caller
Archdruid - Spirit Caller
Posts: 8939
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:51 am
Species: freckled
Contact:

Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:37 pm

um i use clipping mask or ctrl g to the layer above the greyscale
0 x

User avatar
Azura
Pack Initiate
Pack Initiate
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:33 pm
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:38 pm

Whoa, that worked! Thank you, Sol! <3
And thanks to Saebre and Bug for posting, too. C:
0 x

User avatar
Selamar
Archdruid - Spirit Caller
Archdruid - Spirit Caller
Posts: 8939
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:51 am
Species: freckled
Contact:

Sun Jan 27, 2013 5:12 pm

oh good yay glad it fixed
0 x

Locked
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests